Meaning, Narrative, Ramblings, Reading Reflections, Stories

Seriously, Read the Book First (Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close)

Saw the movie this weekend. Enjoyed it. Very sad and emotional. Most of the theater was crying or sniffling throughout much of the movie, including the group of three twenty-something guys in front of us. And including me.

Despite the terrible reviews the movie is getting, I thought it was rather good.

But, seriously, Read the Book First (RtBF). The book is incredible. The movie is good because it is based on an incredible book, and you will enjoy the movie more if you’ve already enjoyed the book.

So, please, read the book first.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Seriously, Read the Book First (Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close)

  1. Leticia says:

    I read the book a couple weeks ago, over the span of 2 days – first time in a LONG time that I’ve done that. Thanks so much for the recommendation. It was so emotional and made me think about so many different things. In some ways I hate that I read it and will always have those thoughts and emotions as a result, but probably it’s good for me. Not sure if I will see the movie, but I really did love the book (even if it made me terribly sad). So thanks. 🙂

    Like

  2. Yup – definitely understand the love/hate emotion thing. It hits some deep places! I don’t know if I’ve read a book that produced such varying emotions – it was one of the funniest books I’ve read in a while, but also profoundly sad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

