Books, Contemp Culture, Ramblings, Reading Reflections

Read the Book First: Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

This weekend I read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close: A Novel by Jonathan Safran Foer. One of our housemates had been recommending Foer’s books to me for a while, and when I heard there was a movie version coming out I wanted to try and read the book before having the chance to see the film.

So, so, so, so glad I did. The book is awesome – a fascinating story set in the aftermath of 9.11 from the perspective of a brokenhearted 9-year old. The story pendulums between charm and sadness, and the prose is broken up by images, visual art, and other “clues” leading the main character (Oskar) and the reader on a path of openness and healing.

I’m looking forward to seeing the movie – it looks great!

But, really, really, really consider reading the book first.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Read the Book First: Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

  1. I don’t know how well this book would translate to movie form. There was a lot going on in the book that probably wouldn’t work very well if it was directly translated to a movie. Either way, it might be interesting to see, but I don’t generally watch many movies in theaters, so it would probably be a while before I see it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

