Contemp Culture, Future, Global, Meaning, Ramblings, Technology, the Ridiculous, Two Many Things

Conflicted about the Creep

Lifestyles are creepy and I don’t like that. A little here, a little there adds up. If the medium is the message, and slowly but surely the mediums we use change, gadget by gadget and shortcut by shortcut, eventually the message changes and eventually we change, whether we’ve realized it or not.

When it comes to the latest CoolPhone, I find myself conflicted. Back and forth, between “I’m going to do it” and “No way will I do it.” I can make a list of pros and cons, but I don’t really like doing that.

The only way I’ve found to avoid the creep is to talk about it. To journal about hesitations and decisions in a public place gives accountability and transparency.

Lifestyle Creep hates accountability and transparency.

Hey, I thought you weren’t going to do that. Oh yeah, I wasn’t, but then I did and here’s why and also here’s how I feel about it. It was a great decision or it wasn’t a great decision or I kind of feel gross about it can we talk some more about that? Yes, we can talk about it, you see your thoughts inspired similar thoughts on my own but now I am rethinking it again since it is after all just a widget and everybody has that widget and since you changed your mind I would like to talk about it to. Oh bother, I don’t know if I’m the best person to base your decision on, you see I feel weak or confident or conflicted about this decision and will project all kinds of things that I think you’re projecting on me back at you so we best not talk about it.

Those are the kinds of stream-of-consciousness conversations that happen in my head sometimes. Except they’re usually louder and more back-and-forth. And more conflicted.

Standard

Leave a Reply

