Contemp Culture, Facebook, Future, Meaning, Ramblings, Technology, the Ridiculous

I Don’t Get Twitter

I am an early adopter in theory but not in practice.  I am eager to know about the latest gadgets, websites, tools, blah blah blah, but rarely invest the time or money to actually “adopt” anything new.  My life is complicated enough and I have not yet found that any additional devices, no matter how many features you can cram into that chunk of plastic, actually improve the quality of my life.  In this sense, I am a bit of a Luddite; I occasionally feel like taking a hammer to all technology in my life, moving to the woods and setting up a tent.

I use Twitter (@dckludt) but I don’t really use it.  I send a tweet every few days, mainly things that I think are funny.  When I first signed up, I thought it was cool to get my friends’ tweets sent to my phone as text messages.  That stopped after about a day when I realized I did not care that much about what you ate for breakfast.  I don’t follow that many people and I don’t really care if you follow me (and don’t understand why you would follow me if we are friends on Facebook, since all my tweets are posted there).  If you tweet more than twice a day, I will probably choose not to follow you since I’d rather catch up over coffee every few weeks.

Given all that, here’s some more things I don’t get about Twitter:

  • I don’t get why I would tweet about a blog post I wrote that you have already seen on your RSS and Facebook feed.
  • I don’t understand how you can possibly reply, respond, and retweet to that many messages each day.
  • I don’t understand, even after using TweetDeck, how you can control more than one Twitter account and not go crazy.
  • I don’t get how Twitter, as used by most people, makes us healthier as a society.
  • I don’t think it’s possible to keep up with social media with a full-time job unless that job requires you to keep up with social media.

Any thoughts?  Any things you hate don’t get about Twitter that I missed?  Am I mistaken?

Standard

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Get Twitter

  1. Pingback: Technology is a Vampire (or Why Facebook Will Eat Your Soul) | can't catch my breath

Leave a Reply

