Brokenhearted Theology

Desire + Context + Time = Articulated Theology.

I’ve been processing some of my own thoughts and formulations on theology partly because of some stuff I’m working on for Kairos and partly because I want more articulately express some of my theological beliefs.  One of the things that I loved about studying at Fuller, an interdenominational seminary, is that a range of beliefs are expressed, taught, discussed, etc.  Within this range, an understanding of where the boundaries of “evangelical” theology were typically drawn, but with room allowed for “generosity” within the bounds of “orthodoxy” or to find a third way toward a deeper church.  I love(d) this about Fuller – the humility, the openness, along with a desire for grounding.  It’s one of the reasons I chose Fuller, and one of the reasons that I would recommend Fuller to others.

But…(again, there’s always a but) leaving room for a range of beliefs (even when that range is narrowed to Protestant/evangelical theology) means that there isn’t always a “right answer” presented in the classroom, and I did not always have or take the time to develop and articulate all of my own personal theological positions, instead focusing on being exposed to the “broad” with the understanding that I will be able to work out the “narrow” all in good time.

I have felt that the “good time” to start working some of this stuff out is now.  I think much of theology is (at least in some senses) contextual rather than universal, and I have a specific context (kairos) for which theology can be derived.  I want to read, re-read, and process individually and communally, and I have time to do that.  Hence, the title of the post – the pieces are there, so time to get to work.  It is a bit daunting, though.  Articulating theology can be a dangerous process, so we’ll see what happens.

Two of the areas I am going to try to start with are (1) hermeneutics and interpretation of the Scriptures (what they are, how we are to read/interpret/understand, etc.) and (2) ethics (sexual ethics in particular, since ethics can involve nearly anything and sexuality is always a bit of a hot topic).    I have a few thoughts, books, etc. that I’m reading and processing, but I’d love to check out anything else that’s worth reading (I’m aiming to read a variety of views written for a variety of audiences (‘popular,’ ‘academic,’ ‘secular,’ ‘sacred,’ etc.).  If you are reading this and have any particular resources, readings, thoughts, etc. on either of these topics, let me know.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Desire + Context + Time = Articulated Theology.

  1. Maria says:

    If either of you haven’t read “Real Sex” by Lauren Winner, it’s a must read on sexual ethics for a popular audience. It is not only very well articulated, but an easy book to pass on to a friend.

    Like

  2. harris says:

    Michel Foucault wrote a three volume History of Sexuality. I haven’t read it, but I hear it is good. However, the appropriation of his thought to Christian Ethics would likely be as difficult as working through these texts. Hope your church is going well.

    Like

  3. Maria, I haven’t read the book, but I heard her give a lecture on the material at Fuller a few years back. I liked her overall thoughts, but wasn’t a huge fan of some of the ways she took shots at the church (universal) in doing so.

    Harris, good recommendation. I’ve read Foucault, but not extensively in the area of sexuality, but I think I will look into that – probably pretty thought provoking (and just provocative in general, I’d imagine). Likewise, hope life for you is going well with studies, the family, and church!

    Like

  4. Pingback: How We Read the Bible (part 1) « can't catch my breath

  5. Pingback: How We Read the Bible (part 1) « can't catch my breath

Leave a Reply

