Uncategorized

The church and the eucharist

I just finished reading Rob Bell’s newest book, Jesus Wants to Save Christians (I know, I’m a few months late).  I thought the book was good (although I found myself wishing there was a version that wasted less paper…there is a ton of blank space on each page…but, I guess it’s okay because it ‘looks cool.’), but found the last chapter by far the most intriguing.  A year or two ago, Mars Hill Bible Church in Michigan hosted a conference on the church called ‘Isn’t She Beautiful?’  I saw a few people post a bit about a talk Rob Bell did on the Eucharist, and since then I have been waiting to see some of the ideas in written form.  The last chapter in this book (called “Blood on the Doorposts of the Universe”) deals with the Eucharist.  Just as the church is called to partake in the Eucharist (communion), Bell argues that the church is called to allow it’s body to be broken and it’s blood to be shed for the world around us.  

I might post more on this later.  Bell takes this in some interesting and challenging directions, and I think it’s a pretty huge idea that he’s presenting.  But for now, here’s a quote that I’d love to hear your thoughts on.  Whether you love it, disagree, or have no clue what any of this means,  feel free to throw out a comment (or not)

God gives the world life through the breaking of Christ’s body and the pouring out of Christ’s blood.  And God continues to give the world life through the body of Christ – who Paul tells his friends at Corinth is them.

They are his body.  The body of Christ.

The church is a living Eucharist, because followers of Christ are living Eucharists.

A Christian is a living Eucharist, allowing her body to be broken and her blood to be poured out for the healing of the world.  

(Jesus Wants to Save Christians, 150)

Standard

2 thoughts on “The church and the eucharist

  1. Pingback: the church and the eucharist, continued « can’t catch my breath

  2. Pingback: Spending ourselves « can’t catch my breath

Leave a Reply

