Brokenhearted Theology, California, Ramblings

God speaks from starbucks?

I’ve had a few uncanny encounters over the last few years, some of them in Starbucks, some of them on random street corners.  Usually these encounters involve someone who others might consider a little…well..interesting or unique – maybe even a bit paranoid or delusional.  But, over the last few years, I’ve had a number of conversations with folks like this where I’ve ended up feeling really challenged and blessed by the conversation that we’ve shared.

Yesterday, my friend Joey and I were sitting in Starbucks working on one of our projects for finals.  A woman seated at the table next to us commented that we looked really intense and serious, and asked what we were working on.  I told her, and she began to talk for a few minutes about some random things, mostly relating to some issues of cyber warfare, hacking, gangs, FBI, and identity theft.  I wasn’t really tracking with the conversations, but was nodding in polite affirmation and silently wondering if I was going to be able to get back to work on my project at any point in the near future.

At one point in the conversation, she broke from her discussion of cyber warfare and said something to this extent:

be faithful.

be faithful to the gifts that God gave you

like your brilliant intellect.

…and then she continued talking about hackers.

Crazy, huh?  I opened up a little word processing document on my computer and typed in the quote before I forgot it.  

I don’t know what it means.  I don’t know anything about this woman (and she doesn’t know anything about me).   I don’t know why she told this to me (us).  I don’t know if I’ll ever see her again.

But it made me stop and think.  Be faithful to the gifts that God gave you.

Standard

4 thoughts on “God speaks from starbucks?

  1. Libby, yeah…crazy how having way too much too do for school can affect blogging habits. We’ll see if I can keep it up.

    Joey, I’m glad you were there as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

