Books, Fuller, Reading Reflections

Review of ‘Assaulted by Joy’ by Stephen Simpson

I finished a book a few weeks ago by Stephen Simpson called Assaulted by Joy: The Redemption of  a Cynic.  I was a bit skeptical as I began the book, because the blurb sounded a bit corny and packaged (cynical guy has a lot of babies and turns his life around and loves Jesus now).  But, after a few chapters in the book, I found myself really enjoying the book.  Assaulted is essentially an autobiographical memoir, recounting stories from the author’s high school years through college and graduate school and eventually marriage and parenting. 

It may be because I am currently attending the same graduate school the author attended (and could, therefore, resonate with his stories of grad school life) or because I identified with his stories of loneliness and community throughout high school and college, but I quickly got caught up in the book.  I finished it a few hours after I picked it up, finding it a refreshingly honest and much needed break from the week I had had.  All in all, a good read – funny, quick, and honest.  Definitely worth checking out, especially if you just had four babies at once.

Standard

Leave a Reply

