Uncategorized

Politics

Yay, election season.  

In college, I used to joke with some friends that election night is like Christmas for political scientists (and poli sci majors).  Although I’m no longer actively studying political science, I still find myself interested in the election, and am curious to see what happens on election night.  I find politics fascinating on many levels – sociological, phenomenological/psychological, theological, etc.  

But I’ve yet to really find myself captured by American politics on a personal level.  

I watch the sign holders and the flag wavers, the people screaming in a near frenzy for their candidate.  I hear the grave voices whispering on the attack ads, threatening all the devestating things that will happen to you and your children and your money if you vote for so-and-so.  I read the reports of how many millions have been raised and spent wasted on this-and-that in order to best target him-and-her.  

And I can’t help but think of the kids in Africa who don’t have clean water, or can’t go to school because they don’t have the right uniform or books.  Or the actual things that I think we should be afraid of which are linked, not to a particular candidate’s platform, but to our own corrupt hearts – like the greed, apathy, hatred, etc.  And the things in life that are actually worth getting excited about – snow falling in Wisconsin, a beautiful sunset, Ben Folds Five playing a reunion show, grace and beauty, a world that will be redeemed.  

I don’t want to be a cynic.  I don’t want to be apathetic.  I don’t even want to say that we shouldn’t be concerned/interested/engaged in the political process.

It’s just that I find so many other things more deserving of my attention, time, and resources.

Standard

One thought on “Politics

Leave a Reply

