Uncategorized

Two days, three flat tires

I’ve been a bad blogger lately.  At some point, I hope to have the time/ability to write more consistently about a variety of things I’ve been thinking about lately. 

Anyways, I have been riding my bike a bunch lately – both as a form of exercise and as a way to get around without driving a car.  However, I am almost convinced that my bike is under the influence of some evil power that does not want me to ride my bike.  It seems that every time I set out on a biking adventure, something bad happens and I end up walking my bike for a few miles or waiting for a bus to come by that’s taking me in whatever direction I was planning on biking in.

Yesterday, my friend Mike and I were going to bike to East Hollywood to check out the Bicycle Kitchen (http://www.bicyclekitchen.com/).  A mile into the ride ~15 mile ride, we both realized I had a nasty flat.  We pulled over and pulled out a huge chunk of glass from the side of my tire.  We discussed our options, and chose to catch a bus into EH.  After getting off the bus with our bikes, we saw that Mike’s tires were full of little prickly thorns of some kind, and his front tire was punctured.  Luckily, we were only a few blocks away from the house of some friends who had a pump (we had a patch kit and tire levels – just no pump to fill up, otherwise we would have been golden on the side of the road).  We took care of everything, and hung out in East Hollywood for a while and then biked most of the way back to Pasadena, catching a bus in Eagle Rock after taking a 5-6 mile “shortcut-that-turned-into-a-long-loop-around-griffith-park.”

Well, this morning I woke up early for my Wednesday routing of biking to a bus stop, and taking me and my bike on a bus to East Hollywood for various internship-related activities.  After getting my bike outside, I realized my back tire was flat (again).  I didn’t have time to see if it was the same spot, or if I had another puncture, so I’ll take a look at it later.

But, seriously, this is ridiculous.  I am trying to do something good by biking instead of driving anywhere.  Good for me, good for the world, good for L.A., good for our finances, etc.  And every time it ends up being a hassle.  Last time I tried to ride from East Hollywood to the downtown library branch, one section of my tire pretty much blew up to the size of a mango and I had to walk most of the way to Union Station from downtown. 

Just a series of stupid little things, but it’s a big pain.  But I will press on – I haven’t given up on biking, even though biking may have given up on me.

Maybe it’s time to just get some thick and tread-y hybrid tires for my bike, since my little road wheels are not doing too well on these L.A. roads.

Standard

Leave a Reply

