Ramblings

Goals vs. To Do

I’ve been feeling lately like the goals I have, or want to have, are often shoved aside by my growing “To Do” list, and it’s kind of frustrating.  Some of the goals I have made for myself over the past few months (or years are):

  • Get better at surfing (i.e. surf more than once every month and a half)

  • Study to be a Jeopardy contestant

  • Figure out the logistics of changing our car’s oil in our parking lot

  • Take more and better pictures

  • Get really good at Scrabble

  • Morning bike rides at least twice a week

  • Find a place to swim laps once or twice a week

  • Stay well connected with friends and family back home

But my “To Do” list just is never ending, always growing, and they all have deadlines imposed by other people…it looks more like this:

  • Finish Schleiermacher paper

  • Catch up on a week’s worth of reading that I missed because of Schleiermacher paper

  • Begin reading for Gospels paper

  • Begin reading for philosophy paper

  • Once all the above are done, catch up on reading missed because of papers

  • Once reading is caught up on, or I’ve given up on catching up, start studying for finals

It’s funny how the To Dos seem to be keeping me from my big picture goals…and how my To Dos don’t really work to further any of my Goals?  Maybe I need to reassess some of my priorities, or just stop procrastinating about school work and get it done with so I can get on with the rest of my goals.  Who knows?

Standard

3 thoughts on “Goals vs. To Do

  1. We should definitely get together to play Scrabble. Practice makes perfect, you know.

    And I agree. There never seems to be enough time. Andy Stanley’s book Choosing to Cheat talks about balancing work/family and how you really have to choose to shortchange one or the other (and usually both to a certain degree). So, it’s making intentional choices because both areas could ALWAYS use more time.

    I also sometimes think about (but rarely implement) Steven Covey’s idea of a grid of Important/Unimportant and Urgent/non-urgent. He says it’s best to prioritize the important but non-urgent stuff that we tend to push aside for the urgent (and often unimportant) stuff.

    Like

  2. Jon, I’m with you on the Scrabble.

    I really appreciated Andy Stanley’s thoughts as well – it’s always good to be aware that something or someone is going to get cheated, and proceed with that understanding in place.

    I haven’t heard of Covey before – but it sounds like another good point of view on the busyness issue. How important do you think studying for Jeopardy is? Would Covey say that should be one of my top priorities? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

