Books, Fuller, Ramblings, Reading Reflections

What I’m reading…

My books are piled up in random places all over our apartment…I have been reading a lot for this quarter, and just thought I’d throw out a list of all the books that I’ll be reading in the next month and a half or so.  I’d love to take a chance and review some of them, but we’ll see how that goes.  A lot of these are for class, and some of these are for ‘fun’…there’s probably not much difference between the two

  • Body Politics (John Howard Yoder)
  • The Web of Women’s Leadership (Susan Wilhauck and Jacqulyn Thorpe)
  • Paul’s Idea of Community: Early House Churches in their Cultural Setting (Robert Banks)
  • Colossians Remixed (Brian Walsh and Sylvia Keesmaat)
  • We Are Here Now: A New Missional Era (Patrick Keifert)
  • Jesus and Community (Gerhard Lohfink)
  • Hurt (Chap Clark)
  • A Scholastic Miscellany: Anselm to Ockham (edited by Eugene Fairweather)
  • The Old Testament (Peter Craigie)
  • History of Theology (Bengt Hagglund)
  • An Introduction to the Study of Paul (David Horrell)
  • Celebration of Discipline (Richard Foster)
  • From Pentecost to Patmos (Craig Blomberg)
  • The Formation of Pauline Churches (Richard Ascough)
  • Future Grace (John Piper)
  • The Sky is Falling: Leaders Lost in Transition (Alan Roxburgh)
  • The Protestant Reformation (edited by Hans J. Hillerbrand)
  • Backgrounds of Early Christianity (Everett Ferguson)

What a dorky list.  I hope I don’t lose too much touch with reality. 

Standard

5 thoughts on “What I’m reading…

  1. How’s Yoder’s book? I was considering reading something of his… is it worthwhile? Is it fun/interesting reading?

    Nice list by the way. You are well on your way to a library that would bore 99.5% of the population… but a few of the books make me excited and hopefully that’s worth something!

    Like

  2. I get to start the Yoder book in a week or two. It’s one of his shorter books, but all I’ve heard is good things about his stuff. And, everyone quotes him and references him, so I figure that it’s time that I go to the source and check it out! I’ll let you know what I think!

    And, yes, I am well on my way to the boring library, ha.

    Like

  3. Hi Dave – thanks for stopping by my Vox and commenting.

    Just an aside on your book list – don’t look at it as dorky (I wouldn’t anyway). Look at it as a reflection of your strengths, especially of input and ideation, and use what you’re reading as a chance to fuel yourself. Two of my top five are intellection and input, so I’ve got the same tendencies as you.

    Thanks again for stopping by. I’ll be posting more later tonight.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Vehement Adventure » Blog Archive » Reading

  5. Pingback: Welcome To The Book Club » Blog Archive » Two Great Reading Lists You Should See

Leave a Reply

