Ramblings, Relational

Pet Peeve Confessions

I confess to the following pet peeves:

  • Chewing gum (the action, not the noun)
  • Celebrity fascination (Who cares, they’re just people!)
  • Someone who follows me too closely (walking especially, but driving as well)
  • Telling me that my shoes are untied (do you really think I don’t know?)
  • Slow walkers (don’t you know I’m in a hurry?)

Pet peeves are ridiculous. There is no reason I should get as annoyed as I do by these things, but at the time I feel completely justified in my annoyance.

I think that’s why I felt like confessing them ‘in public.’ If I tell everyone that it is ridiculous to get upset at someone for smacking their gum near me, I will be less likely to get annoyed at the gum smacker. Or, if I tell you in advance that I think it’s ridiculous for me to get upset at you for politely telling me my shoes are untied, maybe it won’t bother me so much next time I throw on my shoes without tying them and running out the door.

Anyone else have pet peeve confessions?

Standard

3 thoughts on “Pet Peeve Confessions

  1. I have to say that the “walking slowly” one annoys me… even happened today on my way to class. And I don’t like it when people clap at movie theather screens- it doesn’t make any sense to me. I’m starting to pick up a long list of driving pet peeves, but that’s just because I drive in crazy Chicago traffic… luckily mike and I are getting good at using our car horn to “correct” other drivers. haha.

    Like

  2. See, I read this a few hours ago, and then was walking over to the library to drop something off and got stuck behind a slow walker or two. I’d never really thought about it before, but suddenly I realized … slow walkers are a pet peeve of mine!

    So I guess more than confessing my pet peeves I’m realizing ones I never realized I had. I’m guessing that’s not quite as theraputic….

    Like

Leave a Reply

