music, Ramblings

explosions in the sky (free album download)

Last night I found out that one of my favorite bands, explosions in the sky, is playing a concert in LA next month.  I haven’t been to a concert in a long time, and I’m really hoping that I can get to this one (I wish it wasn’t on a Tuesday night…but oh well).  Anyways…I first heard of explosions a few years back from one of my friends who has an amazing taste in music.  I’ve heard of so many great bands from him…Pinback, The Mountain Goats, Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, etc.  Mike, if you ever want to make me a mix tape again, I am always game for some new/old crazy/sweet stuff.

Anyways, explosions in the sky is a guitar driven instrumental layered ambient indie rock band.  That’s the best description I can come up with.   If you saw Friday Night Lights, they did all the soundtrack work on that. 

When I am in a bad mood or anxious about something, my wife has learned that all I need to do to relax is to put on my iPod and listen to one explosions song.  It is some of the most calm, soothing, intense, and beautiful music I’ve heard in a long time.  In some sense, I feel like it’s the late 20th Century’s response to classical music. 

Enough rambling.  You can download one of their albums here (or click the pic to the right).  Click on “The Rescue” and you can get all 8 tracks on mp3.  Now, I should warn you..this isn’t a normal album of theirs.  They wrote/recorded each of the songs in 8 consecutive days, and then spent 6 more days producing/mastering the recording.  But…it is classic and wonderful and brilliant explosions in the sky.  I love it.  (sidenote: you can also download one song off of their other albums if you want some other stuff…”those who tell the truth…” and “the earth is not a cold dead place” are their two main studio albums)

Check it out.  Let me know what you think. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

