Ramblings

Classes start…work starts…life starts

Yikes…I had forgotten how fast times flies…and how fast the transition from bored to busy can go.

Classes started today.  I’m taking Foundations for Ministry, Christian Ethics, Patristic Theology, and Transforming Contemporary Cultures (I get to blog for credit for this one, so that should be sweet).  Having not been a full time student for the last 9 months, I’m definitely excited to be busy with school work again.  I love all the reading, and the whole learning process (that’s my Input…and my dorkiness coming out). 

Work started today too…another thing to keep me busy and productive. 

And in a sense it feels like life has started again after a month long hiatus.  Since Krissy started work, it’s been really hard to fill my time with meaningful activities.  I’ve tried to read/study/etc as much as I can, but there’s still a lot of down time..and you can only watch so much daytime TV (that got old after about a day) and read so many blogs (even though there’s great stuff out there!).  So…it’s great to be busy again…or at least feeling productive.

Krissy and I went to Mosaic in Pasadena again on Sunday…Erwin spoke on sexuality as part of the “Life’s Toughest Questions” series and it was an incredible sermon.  Touched on a lot of really difficult issues, and as one of my friend’s said “he didn’t shy away from the truth, but spoke in so much love.”  Check it out on the podcast when it’s up!

Oh..and I’ve been slacking on the Reading Reflections lately.  In the last week or so, I’ve read Of Mice and Men (John Steinbeck), Arm of the Starfish (Madeleine L’engle), and Milkweed (Jerry Spinelli).  All really good…highly recommend Of Mice and Men

Yeah…that’s life in a nutshell. 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Classes start…work starts…life starts

  1. Rick says:

    Dave:

    Your classes sound great! Glad to hear you’re back “at it”.

    I’m reminded of this quote from the well-known author “Anonymous”:

    “The human race has a cruel choice: work or daytime television.”

    Like

  2. Sounds like some exciting courses! especially transforming contemporary culture… would love to hear how it all goes…

    and get reading, i better get to it too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

