Reading Reflections

Reading Reflections #3 – Dragons in the Water

Dragons in the Water by Madeleine L’engle

The lowdown:  So…I was planning on finishing an Unstoppable Force, but Krissy knew that I wanted to read something that was quick and fiction, so she said I should check out Dragons in the Water.  The author is famous for her “Time Quartet” including A Wrinkle in Time, but she’s written a lot of great children’s/young adult books, and this is one of them.

Why I read it:  Whoops…I think I answered that above. 

What I got out of it:  I love Madeleine L’engle because she is a great writer and a great thinker.  She has a very unique way of making her books extremely spiritual without coming across as a cheesy Christian young adult writer.  The title, “Dragons in the Water”, comes from Psalm 74 but it is also a reference to one of the main locations of the story, “Dragonlake” in Venezuela.  The (fictional) native tribe hold spiritual beliefs strongly tied to Dragonlake and the ‘power behind the stars’, and one of the main characters near the end of the story quotes a passage from Psalm 74, realizing that her faith and the faith of the native tribe rest in the same God.

Should you read this book?:  If you liked Wrinkle in Time, if you like young adult mysteries, or if you just want to read something quick and enjoyable with a bit of depth, I would definitely recommend Dragons in the Water.

Next up:  An Unstoppable Force by Erwin McManus (hopefully…I went to the library yesterday and picked up a few books that I’m really looking forward to…so we’ll see what comes next)

 

Standard

One thought on “Reading Reflections #3 – Dragons in the Water

Leave a Reply

