Future, Ramblings

To Do List

I’ve realized over the last few years that I function best when I have a To Do list on hand at all times to remind me of what I need to get done.  I’ve never been great at keeping an organizer, but over the years I have tried all kinds of methods- a notepad document on my computer, an Oracle calendaring system, a Palm, a notecard, post it notes everywhere, etc. 

One of the things that I tend to always do with my To Do lists is juxtapose the huge and seemingly insurmountable tasks alongside the menial everyday tasks like “brush teeth”, “eat”, “sleep” just so I have some things that I can cross off each day.  I just feel useless and lazy if I don’t have at least a few things crossed off on a To Do list. 

There is no better feeling than the relief felt when any item, no matter how trivial, is crossed off of a To Do list. 

To Do

  1. Graduate from college
  2. Help plan a wedding
  3. Apply for and decide on a grad school
  4. Get married
  5. Find a car
  6. Find an apartment in Pasadena
  7. Support Krissy in her job search
  8. Figure out details of moving
  9. Study Hebrew
  10. Finish watching the second season of LOST
  11. Find a better car because the previous car (see #5) probably won’t survive in California
  12. Finish my iced coffee at Starbucks
  13. Find a bag to carry my laptop in
  14. Try and find a good, flexible part time job in the Pasadena area
  15. Find a cheap, used palm pilot to try and organize my life
  16. Find a cheap (free?) place to live for a month in Madison, WI
  17. Ask Krissy what I’ve forgotten to put on my to do list so I don’t forget anything

Some of these things are just so daunting…so new to me. 

#8 – I’ve moved to California once, but that was only for a 3 month stay.  I didn’t have a wife then.  It wasn’t a permanent move.  I put all my stuff in the trunk of my car and drove out there without any worries.  Now I’m trying to figure out what size moving truck we need to rent, and how we’re going to tow our car, and when we’re going to move.

#10 – What’s going to happen next in LOST?  We are six or seven episodes into the second season…and there is just so many unknowns.  Sometimes it is so nice to have something like LOST or 24 on DVD to take my mind off of everything else happening in life.  It’s a great escape sometimes.

#11 – I’ve never really had that many worries about having a car.  For most of college I just didn’t have any need to own one, and when I needed one I borrowed one from my parents.  But now there’s so much more at stake…what do I need to do to make sure that we have an affordable but reliable car to drive all over California?  How do I make sure that our car meets California emission standards?  What’s the first step in this process? 

#9 – I’ve been meaning to spend a day or two a week studying Hebrew, so that  the last four semesters studying it didn’t go to waste….and I’ve almost completely neglected it this summer.  I really need to start brushing up on it again.   Why is it so hard to motivate myself to do something that I enjoy doing?

Oh well.  Despite a lot of “to do’s” remaining, I am definitely making progress on my list. 

12.  Finish my iced coffee at Starbucks

My life just got that much more manageable.

 (written with the help of the musical genious of artists such as Underoath, The Sound of Animals Fighting, and Wilco)

Standard

One thought on “To Do List

  1. Bret says:

    When I moved out to California, their dmv website made it sound like I needed to get a license within 10 days of starting a job here. For car registration, I didn’t try to get the smog checked in Wisconsin, but once you’re out here there are places all over the place to get it done (at least in sacramento)

    Like

Leave a Reply

