Future, Ramblings

Day dreaming in the middle of the night

My fiancé, Krissy, blogged at 4 AM about the amazing love and generosity that surrounds us.  While she was at her computer blogging, about a mile and a half away from my apartment, I was laying in bed with my eyes open.  I had just woken up.  

Last night, I crawled into bed at 11:30 PM, and laid there for what seemed like hours.  By my best estimates, I laid in bed awake until 1:30 or 2 AM.  And then woke up 2 or 3 hours later, to wait for the sun to come up and grant permission to officially get up. 

So here I am, blogging at 8:36 AM after several hours of sleep.  My thoughts have been overwhelmed with the enormity of what’s happening on Saturday.  Two lives, united.  Not a small decision.  Maybe one worth spending the night lying awake in bed.  

Or maybe I should have gotten out of bed and written a little bit.  Maybe it would have helped.  

Part of me hopes that tonight’s sleep will be better, but I am not expecting it.  The overwhelming sense of support, generosity, family, and friends will continue to pour in as people come into town.  I have no idea what will consume my waking and sleeping thoughts for the next 29 hours….or even the 24 hours after that.  It’s kind of terrifying. 

But I couldn’t be more excited.  Despite butterflies and nerves that are flying around in my stomach, I know that I love this girl, and I cannot wait to embark on life’s journey together. 

But until then, I may not be able to sleep.  Maybe I’ll write some more at 3 or 4 tomorrow morning. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

