Ramblings, Relational

Loss of a friend…

I attended the funeral of my friend Brad yesterday. I don’t know if I’ve ever felt the sting of death in such a harsh and potent way. My heart is grieving for Brad’s family. And for the many of his friends and classmates that knew him better than I did. I can only begin to understand the grief that I am feeling – but I cannot begin to imagine what the many who were closer to Brad than I are feeling.

Brad was a great guy to know, and to call a friend. I didn’t realize how blessed and privileged I was to spend time with him 3 weeks ago when he was in Madison. But I do now. We didn’t do anything special. We sat on my couch and talked about middle and high school, college, and the future. We talked about life and God. And then we watched a few episodes of Wonder Years, and talked about how it was one of the greatest television shows ever made.

When we said goodbye, we shook hands. Gave each other a quick hug. Said how good it was to see each other. How good it was to catch up. We talked about how we’ll need to get in touch about various things. We would talk soon.

I have a new appreciation for how sacred and God-ordained time with those we love can be. I only pray that I can begin to understand and live my life in a way that places immense value on those I love and care for.

And I wished for so long, cannot stay…
All the precious moments, cannot stay…
It’s not like wings have fallen, cannot stay…
But I feel something’s missing, cannot say…

Holding hands are daughters and sons
And their faiths just falling down, down, down, down…
I have wished for so long
How I wish for you today

We all walk the long road. Cannot stay…
There’s no need to say goodbye…
All the friends and family
All the memories going round, round, round, round
I have wished for so long
How I wish for you today

And the wind keeps roaring
And the sky keeps turning gray
And the sun is set
The sun will rise another day…

We all walk the long road. Cannot stay…
There’s no need to say goodbye…
All the friends and family
All the memories going round, round, round, round
I have wished for so long
How I wish for you today
How I’ve wished for so long
How I wish for you today

We all walk the long road

Pearl Jam

Brad and I

Standard

Leave a Reply

