Ramblings

who am I?

A very good question to ask…who am I? Who are you?


On the most basic level….

I am a 21 year old male. I am taller than average. I am engaged. My parents are divorced. I just graduated from college with a Political Science degree. I work two jobs.

Zooming in…

I enjoy reading a great deal. I love music, but I used to love it more. I like darker beers (come to Wisconsin and try a New Glarus Fat Squirrel Nut Brown…so good). I live with 5 other guys, and share a bedroom with 2 others. I bought 5 pounds of cottage cheese last night. One of my life goals is to be a contestant on Jeopardy! (or at least try out)

Further…

I need my close friends. I enjoy seeing deep and meaningful messages infused within cultural context. I dislike when someone or something is underestimated. I am hurt by the consumer mentality that plagues much of Western Christianity, but know that I often look to see what I can get out of my church. I use to be more comfortable meeting new people than I am now.

And a bit further…

I put up barriers to prevent people from getting to know me: including, but not limited to humor and keeping myself extremely busy, or at least appearing extremely busy. I am a people-pleaser. One of my strengths is empathy, but most of the time I find it to be one of my greatest weaknesses.

As far as we’ll go for now…

I am currently overridden with a lot of guilt due to family, holidays, friends, etc. One of my greatest longings is to “feel bored” – I don’t remember what it feels like, and I don’t think I’ve felt it in over a year. In the last week, I have started to feel what it tastes like to surrender to God and feel worshipful.

I don’t know which of those characterizations really answers the question “who am I?”. Maybe all, maybe none….probably somewhere in the middle. Maybe I’ll figure that out someday.

Standard

3 thoughts on “who am I?

Leave a Reply

